Last taste of summer salad

We eat with our eyes first, so I love making dishes that are naturally colorful and fresh. This salad is refreshingly simple to make and can be adapted to use whatever chopped veggies you happen to have on hand. Just chop, and toss with a vinaigrette and you’re good to go. For this salad, I used chopped red bell pepper, cherry tomatoes, yellow corn, red onion, and cilantro.

I don’t know why red onion is called red onion, since they are clearly purple. I used to dislike eating raw onions, until I learned a little trick at culinary school. To take the bite out of the onion, all you have to do is soak the chopped onions in water for about 15 minutes and then drain them before adding them to your salad! You get the sweet onion flavor, without the oniony-ness that lingers afterwards. Try it and you’ll see what I mean.

I mixed a very basic vinaigrette for this salad – with a secret ingredient: orange juice! People always think of lemon juice for salads, but I like adding a splash of orange juice for the citrusy flavor with a little bit of sweetness. For the dressing, I mixed orange juice, balsamic vinegar, grain mustard, and whisked all of this with olive oil. I adjusted all of the ingredients by taste, so taste the dressing as you mix it and add more or less of each ingredient depending on what you like!

After that, just mix everything up in a big bowl and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

