Skillet Gnocchi with Cannellini Beans

There’s just something about autumn that makes me want to cook – could be the touch of briskness in the air that nudges me to stay inside and make something warm to eat ๐Ÿ™‚ This was last night’s dinner – filling, delicious, and you only need one skillet to make the whole thing.

Gnocchi is always one of those things that can be incredibly finicky to make. I usually use the store-bought kind, boil them, and then toss them with some pesto for a super quick and low brow meal. However, I find that if I boil them for just a tiny bit too long, they immediately become a sticky, chewy mess instead of the light and fluffy pillows that you get when the gnocchi are cooked just right. But … who says that you have to boil the gnocchi? In this recipe, I first pan fry the gnocchi in a bit of canola oil until they are browned and puffed before cooking the sauce. This way, the gnocchi get a nice sear on the outside and stay light and fluffy on the inside when they are tossed with the wonderfully cheesy vegetable sauce.

 

1 package store bought gnocchi (17.5 oz)

1 can diced tomatoes with Italian seasonings (15 oz)

1 can cannellini beans, rinsed and drained

1 medium onion, diced

a few cloves of garlic, minced (I used 4)

1/2 c. part skim mozzarella cheese, grated

1/4 c. parmesan cheese, grated

2-3 c. baby spinach

canola oil

salt and pepper to taste

1. Heat up about 1 tbsp. canola oil in a skillet. Add the gnocchi, tossing often. Cook until gnocchi are browned and puffed (about 8 minutes). Remove gnocchi and reserve in a separate bowl.

2. Add another tbps of oil to the pan, then add onion & garlic. Saute until onion becomes translucent. Add beans and tomatoes. Bring to simmer, season with salt and pepper to taste.

3. Stir in gnocchi and spinach. Top everything with mozzarella and parmesan. Cover and cook until cheese is melted.

4. Serve and enjoy!

 

One response to “Skillet Gnocchi with Cannellini Beans

  1. Ohhh that looks and sounds soo good!! I love gnocchi, and it goes so well with cheese… mmmm.

    FB was being weird… so I’m leaving my answer to your salad question here:

    Let’s see… We usually have lettuce, cucumber, peppers, usually tomatoes and celery.. and then I just add whatever other veggies that are hanging around ๐Ÿ™‚ Usually olives are involved, and I love adding leftover squash or sweet potato. Today the one I’m taking to work has roasted red peppers (from a jar), olives, carrot, hummus… I think that’s all. I’ve been doing hard boiled eggs recently for salads to take to work, but if I’m at home I like to add a fried or poached egg. It’s really up to you!
    I hope life is treating you well!

Leave a Reply

