Highland Kitchen

When my friend F visited the Boston/Cambridge area last weekend from NYC, I immediately started searching for a good brunch place for us to try. Brunch is a big thing for NYC’ers (and for NYC transplants such as myself) and I was hoping to find a place for a hearty and delicious brunch. After a bit of searching (on Yelp) I came across Highland Kitchen in Somerville, a short walk from my house. The reviews for this place are pretty glowing all around, and I was pretty excited to try it out.

Before we walked over on Sunday, I called the restaurant to check if I could do call ahead seating – the hostess told me that unfortunately, they did not offer call ahead seating for brunch, and that the wait for a party of 2 was expected to be about 45 minutes that morning. I adjusted my expectations and arrived at the bustling restaurant, expecting to hungrily watch other brunch goers enjoying their food while waiting for a table to open up. Surprisingly and fortunately, when we arrived at the restaurant, the hostess told us that we could be seated almost immediately! I ordered the shrimp and grits and enjoyed a wonderful brunch with coffee and conversation with my friend. The live bluegrass music was just icing on the cake. We both left very contented and full, slowly meandering home and slipping into the usual Sunday afternoon food coma.

Highland Kitchen

150 Highland Avenue
Somerville, MA 02143-1619

Leave a Reply

