Becoming myself

Being in a place like New York City can be completely amazing and overwhelming at the same time. When work takes up the majority of my daily waking hours, it is tough to be able to have the time, and more importantly, the energy to pursue those things that catch my heart. Lately I’ve found myself asking people around me – are you passionate about what you do? I think that this question tends to make a lot of people uncomfortable – partly because it forces a lot of us to realize that there is a certain authenticity that is missing in the life that we are living now. We all want success and comfort in some capacity, but it’s easy to get into the rat race mentality in this city. As the bf puts it, I think that it is time for me to start watering my own grass.

Seeing Josh Radin tonight was exactly what I needed after a long day at work – his concert at Webster Hall was absolutely amazing. He is always amazing live.

“No envy, no fear” – Josh Radin

I took this picture with my iPhone! I am a little tempted to actually invest in a DSLR to shoot better photos but then again, sometimes I like the challenge of capturing the moment perfectly with a point-and-shoot. Plus, my little Canon camera and my iPhone can fit snugly in my jeans pocket – something that will not happen anytime soon with the huge lenses required with a DSLR.

One thought that I am constantly forgetting is that there is so much to be happy about in the present. Most of the time, my lack of sleep and hectic schedule leave me with no time to stop and smell the roses. So to remind myself, here are some of the things that are currently stirring those wonderful, warm, fuzzy, giddy feelings inside of me as well as new, interesting things that I have recently discovered:

  • Josh Radin’s concert at Webster Hall today, where Zach Braff was in the audience!!!!
  • Zubbles!!!
  • the combination of Owl City + Mika + Josh Radin + Glee music in my playlist
  • Maru!
  • opensource fashion: WeardrobeThreadless
  • reading the end of poverty by jeffrey sachs
  • all of the smart, amazing, inspiring, thoughtful, creative people that I met last week in Boston
  • and of course, GREAT FOOD.

When there is no time to anything, the only thing that you can do is make time. Here is the list of entries and places that I have yet to blog about:

  • EN Japanese Brasserie
  • Grom
  • Wagamama
  • Brooklyn Flea
  • BCD Tofu House
  • NYC Dumpling Festival
  • Resto
  • Max Brenner
  • Cafe Grumpy
  • Mesa Coyoacan (brunch)
  • Japantown @ Lesley University
  • Men Kui Tei
  • Tiffin Wallah

I am finding that it is a little bit inconvenient to have to insert pictures one at a time into each blog entry, or insert all pictures as a gallery object. Also, I wanted to change my blog header to a custom picture – but my current theme limits me to headers of a particular size. Once I finally catch up with all of the lovely eating that I have done, I will embark on working on my own WordPress blog! Here’s a preview of the header image that I created … I am so excited by all of the creative outlets that I have discovered lately!

Sweet! Friday tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

