More Williamsburg … Mesa Coyoacan

To be honest, I am usually not a fan of Mexican food at all. In my mind, the thought of Mexican food brings connotations of cheesy, greasy, salty, and overly spicy food – not exactly appetizing to say the least (at least to me)! However, when my friends J and Y suggested a new place that just recently opened near their place in Williamsburg, I was intrigued. When we first arrived at the restaurant, there was a brief wait for our table, during which I ordered a glass of horchata at the bar. I was first introduced to horchata during the summer that I spent in New Mexico – it is a creamy drink made with rice, almonds, and cinnamon. I have learned that any Mexican restaurant worth its salt will make a good horchata – and Mes Coyoacan’s horchata turned out to be the best that I have had in the New York area thus far … needless to say, our dinner was already starting off well!

mesa_horchata

We were seated promptly at our table and decided on an order of guacamole and a trio of tamales to start. The guacamole was pretty standard fare, and served with generous refills of fresh, crispy house made tortilla chips. I must mention here that one of my favorite ways of enjoying guacamole is with thick cut yuca fries – try it sometime … the sturdy, hearty crunch of a yuca fry is a delicious companion for the smooth savoriness of a good guac. The tamale trio consisted of oaxaqueno (chicken and black mole), veracruzano (tilapia and guajillo salsa), and chipaneco (pork picadillo, fruit and almonds) – each a tasty little bite wrapped in delicate corn husks. All three were equally as good so I wouldn’t be able to pick a favorite – even better that the order comes with all three!

mesa_guac

mesa_tamale

For dinner I had three pork carnitas tacos made with Berkshire pork. The tacos were absolutely delightful – served on thin soft tortillas that held the perfectly seasoned meat filling!

mesa_taco

My bf decided to try a spicy soup that was a bit underwhelming … I usually like to stick to Korean soon doo bu, kimchi jigae, or budae jigae for a deep spicy and filling stew.

J and Y both ordered enchiladas – mole for J and verde for Y. Both orders of enchiladas were very well executed – authentic and enrobed in rich, flavorful sauces.

Manhattanites take note: for great and authentic Mexican, hop on the L to Graham and try Mesa Coyoacan!

Mesa Coyoacan

372 Graham Avenue

  • 372 Graham Ave, Brooklyn 11211
  • (Btwn Skillman Ave & Conselyea St)
  • fe
Leave a Reply

